CMMI Process Areas

CMMI Model Foundation (16 Core Process Areas)

  • Causal Analysis and Resolution (CAR)
  • Configuration Management (CM)
  • Decision Analysis and Resolution (DAR)
  • Integrated Project Management (IPM)*
  • Measurement and Analysis (MA)
  • Organizational Process Definition (OPD)
  • Organizational Process Focus (OPF)
  • Organizational Performance Management (OPM)
  • Organizational Process Performance (OPP)
  • Organizational Training (OT)
  • Project Monitoring and Control (PMC)**
  • Project Planning (PP)***
  • Process and Product Quality Assurance (PPQA)
  • Quantitative Project Management (QPM)****
  • Requirements Management (REQM)
  • Risk Management (RSKM) 

Process areas found only in CMMI for Acquisition

  • Acquisition Requirements Development (ARD)
  • Solicitation and Supplier Agreement Development (SSAD)
  • Agreement Management (AM)
  • Acquisition Technical Management (ATM)
  • Acquisition Verification (AVER)
  • Acquisition Validation (AVAL)

Process found only in CMMI for Development

  • Product Integration (PI)
  • Requirements Development (RD)
  • Requirements Management (REQM)
  • Supplier Agreement Management (SAM)*****
  • Technical Solution (TS)
  • Validation (VAL)
  • Verification (VER) 

Process areas found only in CMMI for Services

  • Capacity and Availability Management (CAM)
  • Incident Resolution and Prevention (IRP)
  • Supplier Agreement Management (SAM)*****
  • Service Continuity (SCON)
  • Service Delivery (SD)
  • Service System Development (SSD)
  • Service System Transition (SST)
  • Strategic Service Management (STSM) 

The models also contain generic goals and generic practices that apply across multiple process areas. They describe the characteristics that must be present to institutionalize processes that implement a process area. All generic goals and generic practices are internally consistent and apply to every model.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *